California Democratic Party’s First Round of 2022 Endorsements

Statewide and Legislative Endorsements Finalized

The California Democratic Party’s endorsements for the primary election became official at the online CADEM Convention this month, finalizing the Party’s voting recommendations for all statewide and legislative races. 

Within San Diego County, the candidates backed for Congress (in their newly redrawn districts)

  • Stephen Houlahan (CD 48)
  • Mike Levin (CD 49)
  • Scott Peters (CD 50)
  • Sara Jacobs (CD 51)
  • Juan Vargas (CD 52)

The State Senate candidates who won the Party’s support are

  • Steve Padilla (SD 18)
  • Catherine Blakespear (SD 38)
  • Joseph Rocha (SD 40)

And those endorsed for State Assembly are

  • Chris Duncan (AD 74)
  • Brian Maienschein (AD 76)
  • Tasha Boerner Horvath (AD 77)
  • Chris Ward (AD 78)
  • Dr. Akilah Weber (AD 79)
  • Georgette Gómez (AD 80)

The County Party’s remaining endorsements in the primary will be made next week. See the complete list of our endorsements to date at and our redistricting information page at